A Giving Birthday Party by Reagan Campbell

SAN ANTONIO – I don’t have a job. I’m not looking for one because I’m only 10. I feel rich when I get money for my chores from my parents.

For weeks my sister Madison and I have been planning out our birthday party. Madison turned 11 in early September, just two weeks before me. We were going to have our party after that, but moved it to Sept. 30 because our parents volunteered to help Hurricane Harvey victims.

We are still working on some of the details, but we do know that there’s going to be an obstacle course for us to play. Another thing we know is we are not getting any presents. It’s not because we were bad, but because we have chosen not to.

I used to sometimes say that a birthday party is about cake, presents and games, but I have come to realize that it’s not. It’s for celebrating the fact that you’re getting older and for a chance to give to those you love.

To think that there are children my age not lying in their own beds, searching for food and unable to play with their favorite toys, makes me sad. So instead of presents, we have asked people to bring canned foods, toiletries or cleaning supplies to be donated to hurricane victims.

We did this before when we stayed in Maryland. We collected canned foods instead of presents. The items collected were given to the Laurel Church of Christ food pantry and was a big success. We had over 100 food items donated.

My dad and mom have taught me to think of others. It even says in Acts 20:35 that “It is more blessed to give than to receive.”

I think it’s best to do as the Bible says. When we think about presents and stuff like “I want to get this” and “I want to get that,” we’re being selfish.

My mind is made up and we are donating food and supplies. Our birthday party is going to be a fundraiser to get people to give and think about others. [Reagan worships with Greg and Chyrece Campbell and their other children at West Bexar County Church of Christ.]

Leave a comment

Filed under 2017 Nov, Recent Events

Leave a Reply

